Reviews

Arun Rao is an excellent tour guide and a fantastic trip organizer. We had a fantastic trip to Kruger national park, Johannesburg, Capetown and the Victoria falls. Twelve of us, all senior citizens had a wonderful enjoyable time and he catered to all our needs. His knowledge of the places is excellent and he made sure that we saw all the animals in the park. It was a throughly enjoyable trip. We plan to go for more trips with him as our guide and trip organizer. Hey Arun , you are the best.

J. R. Kadambi

April 2024 was our trip to South Africa (Kruger national park, Johannesburg, Victoria falls and Cape Town) . When my cousin proposed for this trip last October, I was a bit apprehensive in the beginning as I didn’t know much about our co ordinator , Mr. Arun. But then, looking at the group of 12 , I wondered why not take a chance right ?

It turned out, if I had not gone, I would have missed a great opportunity.

Our trip was planned for 14 days and the planning was so custom built, just as Mr. Arun of dreadlion safaris promised us, we had to reach Johannesburg and that’s it until we boarded the flight back after the trip. He had done wonderful arrangements for accommodation, food, travel, sight seeing and what not . All of us (age group from 63 to 85) had the most enjoyable and memorable time of our lives.

Mr. Arun took care so that we didn’t miss even a single wild animal in the Kruger . Infact after 2 days when we all had lost hope of finding our last carnivore of lions, Arun made it a point to take us to the inner , not so covered roads and made sure we had ample sighting of the lions. That was remarkable indeed.

I can go on and on our memories of victoria falls, cape point , his culinary skills so much to pen. Overall, I highly recommend Mr.Arun’s arrangements and don’t miss an opportunity when you get a chance under his guidance.

Jayashree Nagasunder

Arun was exceptional from start to finish. He took care of every detail, arranging comfortable lodging and delicious meals throughout our trip. His extensive knowledge of the wildlife, ecosystems, and local culture brought our safari experience to life with fascinating insights and stories.

What truly set him apart was his attentiveness to my elderly parents. He went above and beyond to ensure their comfort and safety, always patient and accommodating to their needs. Whether helping them in and out of the vehicle at Kruger national park or even finding wonderful vegetarian food.for our meals. It allowed my parents to fully enjoy this adventure.

His expertise in tracking animals led us to incredible wildlife sightings, and his respect for nature was evident in every interaction. He answered our endless questions with enthusiasm and clarity, deepening our appreciation for this remarkable environment.

I wholeheartedly recommend this for an unforgettable, educational, and seamlessly organized safari experience with Arun and the Dreadlions Safari.

Sumanth Murthy USA

February 2016, Krueger, South Africa. I met this wonderful man who was interacting with my kid. He offered to take us around. By God, he knows every animal, bird , tree, folklore about the local jungles and traditions. Encyclopedia he is. Best of all, he is most friendly and knows how to take care of people he takes along. I would love send my parents with him.

Prashant Patil

We had an incredible experience on our South Africa trip, and it’s all thanks to our amazing tour guide, Arun! From the moment we arrived, Arun went above and beyond to ensure our trip was unforgettable.

His extensive knowledge of the region, combined with his passion for sharing its history, culture, and beauty, made each day a new adventure. From stunning natural wonders to vibrant cities, Arun brought everything to life with his insightful commentary and infectious enthusiasm.

His attention to detail, flexibility, and ability to cater to our group’s diverse interests and needs made the trip truly personalized and enjoyable. We felt safe, supported, and inspired throughout our journey.

We cannot recommend Arun enough! If you’re planning a trip to South Africa, look no further. His expertise, warmth, and dedication will make your experience truly unforgettable.

Thank you, Arun, for an adventure of a lifetime!

Sandhya Phanindra

Jul 2019 • Friends

Dread lion made my Kgalagadi experience the most fascinating and memorable of times. From seeing dozens of jackals to ground squirrels and meerkat, honey badgers, wildebeest, ostriches, springbok, Kudu, hyenas, Caracal and cheetahs and thanks to the awesome driving skills of Arun, seeing a magnificent male lion cross two feet from our vehicle. Throughout, the whole journey we were able to take such beautiful photographs, he had always managed to have the vehicle in best position for the perfect shot. Also having such tasty meals (which he cooked, and I must say what an amazing chef) with his wonderful joyful enjoyable funny company and star gazing and learning so much of the night sky. I feel that with Dread Lion we didn’t miss a thing, from all the small and big birds to the ground animals to the big cats. On our way out we were even more lucky to see almost a whole pride of lions. That and such a great meal cooked by him were the perfect end to the journey. Can’t wait for my return to the Kgalagadi with him as our guide. Big thanks to Arun and his exciting character and to Dread Lion Safaris. Will see you again soon.

Ella Shaul UK

Sept 2019 • Solo

As a wildlife photographer i will recommend DreadLion safari because Mr. Arun who takes us to safari himself is a great photographer and he knows where to stop and which angle will be good for us to click. I got amazing images of leopard lions cheetahs and elephants. Arun is very experienced and expert guide as well.

5 stars from me for a lifetime memories by DreadLion safaris

Chintamani INDIA

Oct 2020

Thanks to Arun@Dreadlion Safaris who persuaded us to take this once in a lifetime trip as our first outing emerging from the self imposed home arrest due the covid-19 lockdown. The transport and accommodation was comfortable . Trip paced ideally for family with two kids . The safari was eventful with good spotting thanks to Arun’s experience. Recommended.

Abhijit Mukherjee Johannesburg

Arun was friendly, informative and fun! His knowledge of the bush is amazing and I learned so much. Was crazy to know that he could do safaris for deaf people too.

He took very good care of us and was extremely professional!

Tom USA

Arun, the guide, made our safari unforgettable. The tour was absolutely exciting and at the same time relaxing. Arun satisfied any curiosity we had on wildlife in the park. His knowledge about bush’s life is outstanding. We have spotted a number of animals, even the rare black rhino!!!

Gilano Italy

It was really a great experience to do a tour with Arun. He is not only knowledgeable but has an excellent understanding of the wild, which increases the chances of wild life viewing and makes it perfectly safe. He also is a great photographer and nature lover. He possesses considerable knowledge about the southern sky. Star gazing with him under the perfect dark sky was an unforgettable experience. Thanks Arun, would surely like to do the kgalagadi tour sometime soon.

Shubhendu Kolkata

I had the pleasure of travelling to South Africa with 10 of my friends from LA thru DreadLion Safaris . This was a memorable trip only because of our tour leader Arun Rao of this company . The trip was very thoroughly planned by him with good hotels , good food personal care of each of us in the group .

We started with Johannesburg, Kruger national park , Cape Town , Cape of good Hope, Victoria Falls . After Apartheid museum and Nelson Mandela ‘s house visit , we drove to Kruger national park for safari.

The cottage that I stayed in Kruger was very good with kitchen facilities . Arun became a part of group planning and cooking meals for us. He knows in and out of Kruger to show us all the wild animals very closely in the safari.

We flew to Cape Town from Johannesburg and saw botanical garden , boat ride to Nelson Mandela prison site , Cape of good hope , tip of South Africa . Couple of brave people on our tour wanted to glide and Arun accommodated that too.

Last leg of our trip was our visit to Victoria falls in Zimbabwe side to view full falls . Arun made all the arrangements for us to see the falls and a sunset cruise to view more animals during cruise in addition to beautiful sunset.

Such a personal tour guide is hard to find . All the admissions were already included in the trip amount quoted. The hotels that we stayed had good breakfasts.

Arun is a great tour guide and very caring to accommodate all the needs .

This was a memorable trip and I highly recommend to use his company and him for African safari tours.

Sheela USA

Going to Kruger I had a wonderful time. The sightings were absolutely amazing. Driving right next to two lioness in the reach of touching, seitings of leopards, garaffs and having buffelo and elephants cross the road right in front of us. Always being in the best position for the perfect shot with the Camara, we were able to take such beautiful pictures, thanks to Arun’s very impressive driving skills. All in all the visit was wonderful, also being in his company was very joyful and exciting as he talked about the animals and Kruger park. Thank you Arun and Dread Lion Safaris. Can’t wait to return.

We went on a family tour to South Africa and it was a truly marvelous experience we will never forget. We were a group with ages 75 to 9, with varied dietary requirements and we were concerned that it would be ok, but Arun and his team customized everything perfectly for us. The Kruger safari was a fantastic experience. Its great to have a guide who knows his way around and is full of information and knowledge of nature and with Arun you can see his passion for his work. We spent 2 days in Johannesburg, 2 in the Kruger and 4 days in Cape town. Everything ran like clockwork. The hotels were amazing with great facitlites and locations. Arun really knows his stuff and it was a really fantastic experience for all of us and we wish we had more time there. Arun did a stellar job. I would recommend DreadLion Safaris as a fantastic choice.

Arjun USA

What a trip did we have with in the Kruger Park! Basically we went from one jawdropping experience or view to another. Not only did we witness several leopard sightings, but how about a whole family of lions with small cubs. The knowledge of Arun (and his son) were outstanding and getting to know him made it even more worthwhile. After a week we had experienced one of the most amazing weeks of our lives and that was mostly thanks to Arun and his knowledge. I also really liked the fact that he was aware of the vulnerability of the ecosystem in the park and was not shy to share his opinion about this subject with others. And did I mention the nice barbeques already? We still follow Arun on instagram and it shows that we were not just lucky. The pictures he shares with the world say more than any review will.

Lionel USA

Our family spent 8 days with Arun in Kgalagadi Park which is in the Kalahari desert in South Africa. I can only start by saying we had a fantastic and unusual time with him. If you know anything about safaris in Africa, you expect great wildlife days but also “off days”. Along with Arun, we had 8 great days of wildlife sightings. Every day held someone exciting for us. Now, the Kgalagadi doesn’t have the “big five” but it does have several species of cats and is also a fantastic park for birding enthusiasts. Some highlights during our 8 days we saw six species of cats which was thrilling, but a difficult feat to accomplish. We saw caracal, lion, black footed wildcat, cheetah, two leopards, and an African wildcat. We saw two fresh lion kills, lions still eating. We saw a cheetah hunt and kill a small ostrich. And we saw more birds than I could even mention. We owe our great safari to Arun’s experience and instincts. He knows the park very well. Also, he is friendly and outgoing. He speaks to other guides and other drivers to the understand where the game is at any moment. Additionally, Arun is very knowledgeable about all the species in the park and a wealth of information. He’s a nice guy and he really takes take care of his clients. Our family of five including our 14 year old twins had a Safari we will never forget. Thank you, Arun and DreadLion Safaries!!!!

Troy USA

My family and I spent 8 days with DreadLion Safaris with Arun as a guide in June of 2019. Seven of those days were packed with exciting animal sightings. Only one day was slow, which is to be expected on an 8 day safari. The bird life in this park is amazing. There are so many beautiful species to see, I highly recommend it for and bird watching enthusiast. Don’t forget to bring a good camera with telephoto capability. Our safari was above and beyond anything we expected. Arun worked hard to find us lions, cheetahs and leopards, and we saw all three! We also saw two caracals, a black footed wildcat and an african wildcat. The african wildcat sat just at the edge of the road and allowed us to take close-up photos! Arun’s knowledge of the park and his outgoing nature and his network of other guides helped us to find all the best sightings. We would highly recommend Arun and DreadLion safaris for your South African safari. Arun felt like a close friend at the end of our safari, he is a great guy and very easy to talk to. Good luck and we hope you have a fantastic time with him as we did.

Ofer UK

I visited South Africa from Israel and enjoyed the Kalahari with Arun and DreadLion Safaris for 8 days. He was professional and efficient. He knew the Kgalagadi very well, he knew where to find the wildlife and he had a vast knowledge of the species. He is also very good at identifying bird species from a distance. The species of birds we saw were too numerous to mention. This is a birder’s paradise. Additionally, we were thrilled to see lions, cheetahs, leopards and spotted hyenas. Two of the most exciting moments of our safari were watching a lion chase an adult leopard up a tree and a cheetah kill. I would definitely recommend a safari with DreadLion Safaris and Arun. Thank you for a great time Arun!

Ronit Israel

We were hosted by Arun for a couple of days and we had good sightings. Arun is very helpful and friendly person. A great cook as well. I can recommend him to other people.

Rodney Nombekana

Mar 2019

We went on a tour to South African Safari with Arun Rao of DreadLion Safaris as our guide, team leader and a manager to provide whatever you need in a totally new place never visited before.

We were a group of (11) that traveled from March 07, 2019 t0 March 21, 2019.

Our tour comprised of visiting Johannesburg, Kruger Park, Cape Town, Southern tip of Africa & Zimbabwe on the way back.

This tour was wonderful, full of joy and very memorable for a long time to come.

The whole trip was planned, arranged & executed very nicely by Arun Rao of DreadLine Safaris.

1. Kruger Wild Animal Park was full of excitement with animals in the wild never before seen so closely. It is a place for all wild animal lovers to visit at least once in life time. The cottages within the park and very clean with kitchenette to cook for the visitors as no other caterers available within the park. For us, Arun himself became a great cook and helped us around.

2. Cape Town, its neighborhood that included Water table mountain, Botanical Park, drive around Cape town, the Sea face/beach and exiting Winery with wine tasting program; every one of them was very pleasant and full of fun.

3. The Sothern tip of Africa was another beautiful location that was part of our tour. The location where Indian Ocean meets Atlantic Ocean was something wonderful. The sound of wave’s two oceans meeting place so pleasant & so pleasing that one will forget how time passes.

All the places above were very nicely and very cordially arranged by Arun Rao. Every location we had nice lodgings & good food too. Arun Rao devotedly made everything nice, comfortable & possible.

4. The last leg of our trip was to Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Although Arun Rao did not accompany us to this location, he saw to that all arrangements were made to keep everyone in the group is at utmost comforts. The ride over the river Zambezi on the first day visit to Zimbabwe & seeing Victoria Falls on the following day – both full of excitement and great joy. The nature is beautiful and wild animals added colors to that.

All this was made possible by one great guy Arun Rao of DeadLion Safaris. Hats off to his devotion, hospitality & humbleness!

We sincerely believe that people who love to see animals in the wild should visit Kruger Park in South Africa. Also visit Cape Town one of the very nice towns to rejoice. We recommend contacting DreadLine Safaris for further particular interests as the visit to Kalahari Desert also included now.

Thanks to Arun Rao for making our trip to South Africa very pleasant, rejoicing & thus memorable!

Rekha- Sundaresh USA

I went for the Annual conference of Raptor Research Foundation 2018 at Kruger National Park.I presented my research work there and got awarded too for the best poster presentation.After the conference I wanted to visit Kruger so I had a contact with Arun sir.I have no words to express my deep gratitude for him as I am strictly vegetarian and I dint have enough veg. food for 5 days there, when i told Arun sir about it he made Food for me n brought it in a tiffin..those yummy aloo tamatar matar(potato tomato green peas) when I had i got emotional and felt like someone from my home like my dad is there and after that we went for a fantastic safari.He is an excellent person.I got to see all Big 5 there and i really loved it.

I clicked selfie with all of them too..😃

It seems that Arun sir can communicate with animals because every animal or bird was in happy n pleasant state when we moved towards.

In short Arun sir is the best..!!!!

I strongly recommend everyone to pls go for DreadLion safari otherwise you’ll miss all the adventures there.

Thank you

Dr Shivangi Canada

My husband and I went to Africa back in 2019. We went with Arun for safari tour at Kruger. He told us some interesting stories about the animals that he has experienced. We both are deaf, so it was awesome additional bonus that Arun knew sign language. It helped us understand what was going out there through his signs. His service has exceeded my exceptions. If you are thinking about going with him, then go for it!

J. Wilson - USA

We went on a tour to South African Safari with Arun Rao of DreadLion Safaris as our guide, team leader and a manager to provide whatever you need in a totally new place never visited before.

We were a group of (11) that traveled from March 07, 2019 t0 March 21, 2019.

Our tour comprised of visiting Johannesburg, Kruger Park, Cape Town, Southern tip of Africa & Zimbabwe on the way back.

This tour was wonderful, full of joy and very memorable for a long time to come.

The whole trip was planned, arranged & executed very nicely by Arun Rao of DreadLion Safaris.

1. Kruger Wild Animal Park was full of excitement with animals in the wild never before seen so closely. It is a place for all wild animal lovers to visit at least once in life time. The cottages within the park and very clean with kitchenette to cook for the visitors as no other caterers available within the park. For us, Arun himself became a great cook and helped us around.

2. Cape Town, its neighborhood that included Water table mountain, Botanical Park, drive around Cape town, the Sea face/beach and exiting Winery with wine tasting program; every one of them was very pleasant and full of fun.

3. The Southern tip of Africa was another beautiful location that was part of our tour. The location where Indian Ocean meets Atlantic Ocean was something wonderful. The sound of wave’s two oceans meeting place so pleasant & so pleasing that one will forget how time passes.

All the places above were very nicely and very cordially arranged by Arun Rao. Every location we had nice lodgings & good food too. Arun Rao devotedly made everything nice, comfortable & possible.

4. The last leg of our trip was to Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Although Arun Rao did not accompany us to this location, he saw to that all arrangements were made to keep everyone in the group is at utmost comforts. The ride over the river Zambezi on the first day visit to Zimbabwe & seeing Victoria Falls on the following day – both full of excitement and great joy. The nature is beautiful and wild animals added colors to that.

All this was made possible by one great guy Arun Rao of DeadLion Safaris. Hats off to his devotion, hospitality & humbleness!

We sincerely believe that people who love to see animals in the wild should visit Kruger Park in South Africa. Also visit Cape Town one of the very nice towns to rejoice. We recommend contacting DreadLion Safaris for further particular interests as the visit to Kalahari Desert also included now.

Thanks to Arun Rao for making our trip to South Africa very pleasant, rejoicing & thus memorable!

Rekha- Sundaresh

Dread lion made my Kgalagadi experience the most fascinating and memorable of times. From seeing dozens of jackals to ground squirrels and meerkat, honey bangers, wildebeest, ostriches, springbok, kudu, hyenas, Caracal and cheetahs and thanks to the awesome driving skills of Arun, seeing a magnificent male lion cross two feet from our vehicle. Through out the whole journey we were able to take such beautiful photographs, he had always managed to have the vehicle in best position for the perfect shot. Also having such tasty meals (which he cooked, and I must say what an amazing chef) with his wonderful joyful enjoyable funny company and star gazing and learning so much of the night sky. I feel that with Dread Lion we didn’t miss a thing, from all the small and big birds to the ground animals to the big cats. On our way out we were even more lucky to see almost a whole pride of lions. That and such great meals cooked by him were the perfect end to the journey. Can’t wait for my return to the Kgalagadi with him as our guide. Big thanks to Arun and his exciting character and to Dread Lion Safaris. Will see you again soon.

Arjun-Uk

I had the amazing pleasure of spending some time in the bush with Dread Lion Safaris.

Arun was an amazing companion and a very interesting person as well as highly knowledgeable and in harmony with the animal kingdom.

His ability to predict animal movement enables him to get the best positions at sightings for photography afficionados.

His large network of friends within the park, as well as having been a ranger at Kruger, help him in delivering the best experience and game viewing action available at Kruger.

A highly skilled and accomplished photographer himself, he is always ready to give tips and insights to improve your shots and capture even the most remarkable images.

Can’t thank Arun enough for the amazing experience, he also knows how to cook a mean Braai (BBQ) and brought lots of unique African game meats for the grill every evening.

I would highly suggest DreadLion Safaris to be the ones to guide you through your very own customized African Bush Experience.

Andros-Uk

Incredible and memorable South African Safari and Tour

We had the pleasure of travelling to South Africa from Houston, USA with our friends to DreadLion Safaris. The trip was very thoroughly planned by him with good hotels, good food personal care of each of us in the group. The team leader was Arun Rao

Our tour started from Johannesburg, Kruger national park, Cape Town, Cape of good Hope, Victoria Falls and finally ended at Johannesburg. Right from day one, tour was excellent and we really enjoyed the complete trip.

Arun Rao became a part of group planning and cooking meals for us. He knows in and out of Kruger to show us all the wild animals very closely in the safari.

We flew to Cape Town from Johannesburg and saw botanical garden, boat ride to Nelson Mandela prison site, Cape of good hope , tip of South Africa . Couple of brave people on our tour wanted to glide and Arun accommodated that too.

Last leg of our trip was our visit to Victoria falls in Zimbabwe side to view full falls. Arun made all the arrangements for us to see the falls and a sunset cruise to view more animals during cruise in addition to beautiful sunset.

Such a personal tour guide is hard to find. All the admissions were already included in the trip amount quoted and no other surprises in terms of money. The hotels that we stayed had good breakfasts.

Arun is a great tour guide and very caring to accommodate all the needs.

This was a memorable trip and I highly recommend using his company and him for African safari tour

Sesha Brahmandam USA

Life time experience: As a wildlife photographer i will recommend DreadLion safari because Mr. Arun who takes us to safari himself is a great photographer and he knows where to stop and which angle will be good for us to click. I got amazing images of leopard lions cheetahs and elephants. Arun is very experienced and expert guide as well.

Chintamani India

Thanks to Arun@Dreadlion Safaris who persuaded us to take this once in a lifetime trip as our first outing emerging from the self imposed home arrest due the covid-19 lockdown. The transport and accommodation was comfortable . Trip paced ideally for family with two kids . The safari was eventful with good spotting thanks to Arun’s experience. Recommended.

Abhijit Prague

We were picked up in Jo’burg well on time and moved from there to Kruger where we transferred to a nice safari vehicle. There we met Arun, our guide for the trip. From the moment we entered the park the game drives started. What we saw in those 7 days was incredible: at least 30 lions, 3 leopards with cubs, rhino’s, hippo’s, crocs, hyena’s, buffaloes, really hundreds of elephants, antelopes, beautiful birds and many, many more. We saw a croc catching an impala, two lionesses after a kill while the vultures were fighting for the remainders. Unbelievable and awesome. The additional info from Arun and the fact that he knew all the good spots made it even better, as well as his sense of humor.

The lodges where we stayed (Berg&Dal, Lower Sabie and Satara) were fine as well as the food during the trip including a welcome BBQ and a farewell braai. We simply had a fantastic time and far above our expectations. I waited more than a week with this review to make sure it was all true, but the memory is still the same (and we are still a bit sad that we had to leave). Thank you, Arun, and thank you, Kruger Park. It couldn’t have been better! True value for money.

Ron Denmark

We had Arun as our guide on the 3 day private Kruger national park tour. Arun was a wonderful, knowledgeable and experienced guide, well known to most of the staff, regular visitors, other guides in the park. Because of his great connections, he was able to bring us to see so many animals in the park, even the lions, who were particularly elusive during the days we were there. In fact, we were able to see the Big 5 within the first 2 days in KNP, and much more animals than what we were able to see at our first 2 days at a private park.

If you are interested in photography, Arun is the man for you as he’s also passionate in photography and takes amazing pictures of wildlife.

Arun was also Super funny with a wicked sense of humour and no shortage of stories to share, there was never a dull moment with him. He was also a great cook and was Super thoughtful. Knowing that we are from Singapore and may miss the taste of Asian cuisine, he surprised us by cooking really delicious Indian curry and even whipped up some amazing stir-fried noodles – it was so good my Husband and I ate way too much that night.

Please request for Arun as your guide for the best experience in the safari!

Overall it was an unforgettable experience for my Husband and I. Don’t hesitate any further – we highly recommend engaging Arun for the best experience ever!!

Tanlala singapore

I’ve done a 7 day safari – and would really recommend staying for at least this long if not longer because you really don’t know what animals you’re going to see. This is especially true for cats – some are elusive and hard to find, others (like lions) are often found sleeping or hiding in the grasses. So take your time, travel around the park, see different landscapes and “hunt” down those (with your camera of course) 😉

We’ve been guided by Arun, who knows his way around and has a lot of connections that allow him to go to where action takes place. It was especially valuable when we got a tip off about three male lions fighting over a dead impala (soon a fourth came by as well). These sort of things are priceless and can really make or break your safari – either you make it “there” in time or not.

Mike malaysia

Our eight days in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park with were great. Our guide, Arun, was friendly, knowledgeable and looked after us well. As well as knowing his stuff on the local wildlife, he was able to provide tips on getting the best photos of our sightings, and he is a great cook!

Our trip was split between the three camps of Twee Rivieren, Nossob and Mata Mata. We saw a lot of birdlife – becoming reasonably adept at identifying the ones we saw most often – as well as Oryx, Springbok, Kudu, Red Hartebeest, Eland, Honey badger, Jackel, Cape Fox, Bat-eared fox, Ostrich, Hyena, Wildebeest, Giraffe, Mongoose, Meerkat, Ground squirrel, Spring hare.

We saw a cheetah from a distance on the ridge, but had two great lion sightings. The first, spotted on the ridge, and heading towards the riverbed. Arun knew he was likely to be heading to the waterhole, and got us into the prime spot at the waterhole. We also saw a pride of lions on the day we departed the park – 1 male and five females. My wife was really chuffed to spot a caracal as sightings are apparently quite rare, and we got a good photo of it.

In short the Kgalagadi is a great place to visit, and a good choice for us. Its a long way to get there (especially if like us, you drive from Cape Town!) but well worth it.

John and Adele UK

Friendly, knowledgeable safari guide with a wealth of experience and true passion for nature & conservation!

Arun rocks ;you won’t regret booking with him !

DR. MICHAEL REBEIRO ABU DHABI

en famille à Noël 2019. nous avons passés d’excellentes parties avec ce guide driver et tracker. nous avons vu des animaux de très près. la voiture s’est approchée au mieux pour de superbes moments et de magnifiques photos.

un.guide très accessible, profondément humain. un botaniste du Bush et un amoureux des animaux.

merci encore ISABELLE BIHAN FRANCE

I had the priveledge of going on a Game Drive with this Amazing Field Guide! He has this big passion for the bush and is obsessed with the stories it holds. From Elephants, Hippo’s and amazing Bird species , he also had knowledge about trees, grasses and what the legends behind them are. He took us on a night drive as well and he showed us how to navigate using the great night sky and explained all the cultural beliefs that are painted in the stars-it was extraordinary. We saw the most amazing view’s from dams on top of the mountain, to an Elephant breeding herd that came to drink while we were stopping at a pan for brunch break. I even got a few new birds that day to tick-off on my Bird list! We saw Mountain Reedbuck which was somethiNg that I have never seen on the reserve, as well as 2 Nyala bulls, walking with a troop of Baboons. Klipspringers and all the general Game. It was a fantastic Game Drive, definitely one that I will never forget! It was in the Waterberg area in Marakele National Park.

WILMIE VAN DER HEEVER HOLLAND

Went for the day safari and night safari as well. We consider ourselves very lucky to have Arun as our guide for the night safari. Our day guide was also good enough but Arun seemed to be in love with jungle�…. it’s only passion that can drive someone so far…. it was our privilege to get his unparallel service and we sincerely wish him all the very best…..

RICKY CHANDRA KOLKATA India

I have to say this gentleman is amazing at what he does. Not only does he take incredible photographs, his way with words for information about the bush is just on top form and is so engaging it leaves you with a thirst for more. I’ve had the privalidge of being on one of his rides and I can say that I just wanted more. I can’t wait to come back to South Africa and find where this guy is going to be so I can have round 2 of his knowledge. You can tell he has a passion for his work and a passion of sharing his love of the bush to all and all great things around. Please I highly recommend Arun for any guided experience he will make it truly unique!!!

KATHRYN GRAHAM UK

Arun took us on a walking safari, where we camped out at night. It was fantastic and always felt safe. He’s the nicest guy you’ll meet, and smart as a whip. Would definitely recommend.

CHET BATSON FLORIDA USA

Great experience touring with Arun on safari in S. Africa. Very knowledgeable and amiable guide!

ELAINE CARTER USA

This man is an amazing guide. We saw everything aside from the rhino. He is also very happy to answer all questions and with me on board he did well! Star gazing is also his speciality as he always like to tell you star signs. Overall a very good tracker, guide and all round gentleman! You will have a great time with him.

By George. ATOMIC SUN! ��

GEORGE IVORY UK

Arun was my guide in Kruger Nationalpark for 9 days. It was an amazing and unforgettable experience. He has a great bush-knowledge and I could feel his passion every minute. He didn’t get tired driving me around to show me the best sites and we had a lot of cool sightings, like lions, leopards, elephants and so much more. But the absolute highlight was a python that just had killed an impala. Thank you very much, Arun, for theses wonderful impressions.

JENS HOFFMAN GERMANY

Fresh off the most exhilarating adventure, I’m heartily recommending you consider reaching out to our trusted African safari guide, Arun C. Rao, for a truly fantastic, fun filled experience. He loves animals of all kinds and led us in tracking down African wildlife on rides at dusk and dawn. He brings passion, humor and knowledge of these animals and their behaviors and offered a broad perspective of nature and wildlife from around the globe. You don’t get this everywhere. He made our trip so special, and you’re sure to walk away with a great new friend!

GWEN WAGNER RUDOLPH OREGON USA

Arun is very knowledgable and friendly. He took us on a walking tour and I was always confident that our safety was his top priority. If I ever make it back to South Africa, I will definitely look him up again!

KYLE BATSON USA

So nice He is the best well wisher guide and good renger and he is all rounder and one of our family we enjoyed his company every bit He is a knowledgeable in every field.

RENUKA RAO BANGALORE India

We had a great time in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Arun was a great guide, maximising our chances of getting good sightings, and providing us with helpful tips for getting the best photos. We also ate very well during the trip and the number of hours Arun put in to looking after us was impressive. He met up with us the night before our safari started to check on what we like to eat, and nothing was too much trouble. Our close encounter with a lion would not have happened but for Arun correctly predicting the lion’s likely behaviour, and we now know a lot more about African mammal and bird life.

Thanks Arun.

John Adele UK

Noch nie in meinem Leben, verbrachte ich eine so friedliche, glückliche Zeit/Safari; als wie in den Kalahari. Die KALAHARI besticht einem durch seine grenzenlose Weite, unglaublich schönen Farben des Himmels und seiner speziellen Tierarten.Jede verbrachte Minute, ein Genuss.Die Unterkunft war bezaubernd schön und sauber. Alles war bestens organisiert von Herrn Arun Rao. Die Begleitung während der Safari und des Aufenthaltes war höchst professionell.Man fühlte sich bestens aufgehoben.Herr Rao verfügte über ein ungewöhnliches Wissen von Natur , Tieren und Kultur.Die Verpflegung, bestand aus frisch Zubereiteten Mahlzeiten, die liebevoll angerichtet wurden. Herr Rao ist ein hervorragender Gastgeber, er ist witzig, unterhaltsam. Das zusammen sitzen bei Tisch oder am Grill war immer sehr schön.Ein Mann der seine Arbeit , leidenschaftlich und korrekt macht.

Ich hatte in den kalahari die friedvollste Zeit meines Lebens. Herr Rao erfüllt jeden Wunsch bei Möglichkeit und geht auf die Gäste hervor ein.

Das Programm war top!

Und ich habe dort meine neue Liebe kennen gelernt:))

Das gehörte aber nicht zum Programm 😀

Tanja Nicole Scholz

Arun is passionate about wildlife and he will ensure that you enjoy as well as get involved in the process. If you want the best experience of your life in wildlife Safari and enjoy the experience the way you feel most comfortable doing it Arun is your best bet…. Don’t think twice before deciding on dreadlion for your wildlife Safari .

Mahesh Perumana